Main content

Different Types of Skin Discoloration

TAGS: SKIN DISCOLORATION, ACNE DISCOLORATION, VITAMIN C SERUM, SKIN PIGMENTATION, DARK SPOT CORRECTOR

Different Types of Skin Discoloration

  1. Skincare
  2. Acne treatment
  3. Professional treatments

Since skin discoloration can essentially occur at any age, you may be wondering what exactly contributes to the proliferation of this stubborn skin occurence? Genetics, history of sun exposure, and hormonal fluctuations, to name a few —and skin discoloration can appear as overall uneven skin tone, dark spots on face, brown patches, and an overall dull, dark skin appearance. Yet all faces of skin discoloration on face carry one factor in common: Excess melanin, the brown pigment responsible for normal skin color . The sun plays a significant role in the skin’s tone as well, since melanin production is the skin’s natural way of trying to protect itself from the effects of UV light.

In addition to the various causes of skin discoloration, there are also different forms. The ideal skincare approach for improving skin discoloration can depend on the root cause, and here’s a guide to the different types of unwanted skin pigmentation, as well as the SkinCeuticals skincare solutions.

1. Uneven skin tone

An uneven skin tone simply means that some spots on your skin are darker than others. Although slightly uneven skin tone can often be easily concealed with a tinted sunscreen or light makeup (or not a concern at all), more pronounced discoloration can be difficult to conceal—and many people turn to targeted skincare treatments that help improve the clarity of their skin.

Uneven skin tone can actually be the result of several different types of skin discoloration, including age-related pigment changes, sun damage, stubborn brown patches, post-acne discoloration, and post-inflammatory inflammation (which we delve deeper into below). Opting for a dark spot corrector, such as our Discoloration Defense, would be the best suited move here. This dark spot corrector is formulated with a synergistic blend of anti-discoloration ingredients including tranexamic acid, kojic acid, niacinamide, and HEPES (a gentle acid that promotes exfoliation) to improve the appearance of all the main types of skin discoloration by 20% in two weeks.

2. Aging and sun damage

As natural aging runs it's course, it begins to show on skin. It can take decades for damage caused by unprotected sun exposure to become visible. This type of skin discoloration generally appears as blotchy skin pigmentation along with wrinkles and rough texture. For those with early signs of aging and sun damage, our moisturizer Metacell Renewal B3 features a potent blend of niacinamide (vitamin B3), a firming tri-peptide concentrate, and glycerin that clarifies skin tone, gently resurfaces the skin, and smoothes the look of fine lines and wrinkles.

3. Melasma

Hormonal fluctuations are the underlying cause of melasma, which appears as dark patches on the cheeks, upper lip, and forehead, and possibly the nose and chin. Often experienced during pregnancy and in those using oral contraceptives or post-menopausal hormone replacement therapy , melasma can be one of the more stubborn types of skin discoloration (which is why protecting the skin with a daily vitamin C antioxidant and sunscreen is important). When dealing with hormonal fluctuations causing melasma, it is important to implement a dark spot corrector into your daily skincare regimen. Those with these stubborn brown patches may benefit from Advanced Skin Discoloration Corrector face lotion. With an ingredient cocktail that includes salicylic acid, hydroxyphenoxy propionic acid (a non-toxic derivative of hydroquinone), and the antioxidant ellagic acid, this lightweight, daily-use lotion gently exfoliates to improve the appearance of brown patches while enhancing radiance.

Related products

Related articles

HYPERPIGMENTATION

How to Prevent and Correct Post-Acne Skin Discoloration

Learn each step you should take on your skincare regimen to properly take care of skin with post-acne skin discoloration and skin hyperpigmentation.


Read More

ANTIOXIDANT AUTHORITY

Ingredient Spotlight: L-ascorbic Acid

Lean more about L-ascorbic Acid, a powerful skincare ingredient that offers anti-aging benefits, protection against free-radical damage and more.



Read More

HYPERPIGMENTATION

The Essential Products for Skin Discoloration

Learn more about which skincare products can help you prevent, correct and protect you against skin discoloration, from dark spots to brown patches of skin.

Read More

Orientation message
For the best experience, please turn your device

Main content

Les différents types de décoloration de la peau

DÉCOLORATION DE LA PEAU, DÉCOLORATION DE L'ACNÉ, SÉRUM À LA VITAMINE C, PIGMENTATION DE LA PEAU, CORRECTEUR DE TACHES FONCÉES

Les différents types de décoloration de la peau

  1. Soins de la peau
  2. Traitement de l'acné
  3. Traitements professionnels

Étant donné que la décoloration de la peau peut survenir à tout âge, vous vous demandez peut-être ce qui contribue à la prolifération de cette affection cutanée tenace. La génétique, les antécédents d'exposition au soleil et les fluctuations hormonales, pour n'en citer que quelques-uns, font que la décoloration de la peau peut se manifester par un teint inégal, des taches sur la peau et visage, des taches brunes sur la peau, et un aspect général terne et sombre. Pourtant, tous les types de décoloration de la peau ont un facteur en commun : un excès de mélanine, le pigment brun responsable de la couleur normale de la peau. Le soleil joue également un rôle important dans la coloration de la peau, puisque la production de mélanine est le moyen naturel qu'utilise la peau pour tenter de se protéger des effets des rayons UV.

Outre les différentes causes de la décoloration de la peau, il existe également différentes formes. L'approche idéale en matière de soins de la peau pour améliorer la décoloration de la peau peut dépendre de la cause profonde, et voici un guide des différents types de pigmentation indésirable de la peau, ainsi que les solutions de soins de la peau de SkinCeuticals.

1. Teint inégal

Un teint inégal signifie simplement que certaines parties de votre peau sont plus foncées que d'autres. Bien qu'un teint légèrement inégal puisse souvent être facilement dissimulé par un creme solaire tentée pour le visage ou un maquillage léger (ou ne pose aucun problème), une décoloration plus prononcée peut être difficile à dissimuler - et de nombreuses personnes se tournent vers des soins ciblés pour améliorer la clarté de leur peau.

Un teint inégal peut en fait être le résultat de plusieurs types de décoloration de la peau, notamment les modifications pigmentaires liées à l'âge, les dommages causés par le soleil, les taches brunes tenaces, la décoloration post-acné et l'inflammation post-inflammatoire (que nous abordons plus en détail ci-dessous). Dans ce cas, le mieux est d'opter pour un correcteur de taches brunes sur la peau, tel que notre Discoloration Defense. Ce correcteur de taches brunes est formulé avec un mélange synergique d'ingrédients anti-décoloration, dont l'acide tranexamique, l'acide kojique, le niacinamide et l'HEPES (un acide doux qui favorise l'exfoliation) pour améliorer l'apparence de tous les principaux types de décoloration de la peau de 20% en deux semaines.

2. Vieillissement et dommages causés par le soleil

Le vieillissement naturel commence à se manifester sur la peau. Il faut parfois des décennies pour que les dommages causés par une exposition au soleil sans protection deviennent visibles. Ce type de décoloration de la peau se manifeste généralement par des taches, des rides et une texture rugueuse. Pour les personnes présentant des signes précoces de vieillissement et des dommages causés par le soleil, notre hydratant Metacell Renewal B3 contient un mélange puissant de niacinamide (vitamine B3), un concentré de tripeptides raffermissant et de la glycérine qui clarifie le teint, resurface la peau en douceur et lisse l'apparence des rides et ridules.

3. Mélasma

Les fluctuations hormonales sont la cause sous-jacente du mélasme, qui se manifeste par des taches sombres sur les joues, la lèvre supérieure, le front et éventuellement le nez et le menton. Souvent observé pendant la grossesse et chez les personnes utilisant des contraceptifs oraux ou un traitement hormonal substitutif post-ménopausique, le mélasme peut être l'un des types les plus tenaces de décoloration de la peau (c'est pourquoi il est important de protéger la peau avec un antioxydant quotidien à base de vitamine C et un écran solaire). Lorsque les fluctuations hormonales sont à l'origine du mélasme, il est important d'intégrer un correcteur de taches brunes sur la peau. Les personnes présentant ces taches brunes tenaces peuvent bénéficier de la lotion pour le visage Advanced Skin Discoloration Corrector. Grâce à un cocktail d'ingrédients comprenant de l'acide salicylique, de l'acide hydroxyphénoxypropionique (un dérivé non toxique de l'hydroquinone) et de l'acide ellagique antioxydant, cette lotion légère à usage quotidien exfolie en douceur pour améliorer l'apparence des taches brunes tout en rehaussant l'éclat.

Produits connexes

Articles Liés

HYPERPIGMENTATION

Comment prévenir et corriger la décoloration de la peau après l'acné ?

Le traitement de l'acné n'est que la moitié de la bataille: beaucoup remarquent une décoloration de la peau sous forme de taches sombres. Prenez soin de votre peau acnéique avec SkinCeuticals.


Lire la suite

AUTORITÉ ANTIOXYDANTE

Prévenir les signes visibles du vieillissement grâce à l'acide L-ascorbique

Découvrez les nombreux bienfaits pour la peau de l'acide L-ascorbique, un puissant antioxydant qui apporte à la peau des bienfaits anti-âge.



Lire la suite

HYPERPIGMENTATION

Les produits essentiels pour la décoloration de la peau

La décoloration de la peau et les taches sur la peau ne sont pas ce que vous voulez voir dès le matin. Laissez SkinCeuticals vous aider à prévenir, corriger et protéger la décoloration de la peau.


Lire la suite

Orientation message
For the best experience, please turn your device