Main content

How to Prevent and Correct Post-Acne Skin
Discoloration

TAGS: SUNSCREEN, MINERAL SUNSCREEN, SPF 50, VITAMIN C SERUM, SKIN DISCOLORATION, DARK SPOT CORRECTOR, SKIN SERUM

How to Prevent and Correct Post-Acne Skin Discoloration

  1. Anti-acne skincare
  2. Prevent post-acne discoloration
  3. Targeted treatments for skin discoloration
  4. Professional treatments

The battle with one's skin and acne is not quite finished once the blemishes are gone. Post-acne discoloration in the form of brown or red marks can linger after acne has healed. Yet it’s important to understand that these spots aren’t technically scars, but rather areas of increased pigment that form as the skin’s response to inflammation; therefore, we are dealing with skin discoloration on face. Follow these simple steps to overcome acne discoloration.

1. Uneven skin tone

Acne prone skin requires a personalized, targetting routine to ensure pores are not clogged. An anti-acne regimen should include gentle exfoliation with ingredients like lipo-hydroxy and salicylic acids, as well as targeted acne spot treatments that help minimize excess oil. Retinol can be another useful ingredient, since this vitamin A derivative works double-duty by promoting the shedding of dead skin cells that can potentially clog pores while helping to improve the appearance of skin discoloration.

2. Aging and sun damage

It’s also important to take steps that can help prevent post-acne discoloration as you get your complexion under control. Perhaps the most important rule is to avoid picking active blemishes or scabs that may form as the skin heals. In addition, a daily antioxidant vitamin C serum such as our Phloretin CF may be the best choice for those with normal, oily, and combination skin that’s prone to breakouts. In addition to L-ascorbic acid (the purest form of vitamin C) and ferulic acid, this antioxidant cocktail features a plant-derived antioxidant called phloretin that has been shown to provide protection against the free-radical damage that may contribute to skin discoloration while improving existing uneven skin tone.

The easiest implementation to prevent acne discoloration would be using a mineral sunscreen. And not just once every two weeks: daily use. UV rays play a major role in the development of skin pigment and protecting the skin from sun exposure can help minimize the appearance of stubborn post-acne marks once blemishes have healed. We offer several SPF 50 mineral sunscreen options, including radiance-enhancing and mattifying formulas that instantly improve the appearance of skin tone and help absorb excess oil throughout the day.

3. Melasma

Although several effective ingredients for acne-prone skin can help improve the appearance of post-acne marks as well, products that are specifically formulated to address skin discoloration can help achieve the best possible results—and often in less time.

Integrate a dark spot corrector to target and reduce the signs of acne discoloration. A lightweight daily-use serum, Discoloration Defense has been shown to significantly reduce the appearance of visible skin discoloration, including red and brown post-acne marks. Featuring 3% tranexamic acid, 1% kojic acid, 5% niacinamide, and 5% HEPES (a sulfonic acid that promotes the skin’s natural exfoliation process), this potent cocktail of anti-discoloration ingredients works synergistically to promote even skin tone, help prevent new dark spots on face from forming, reduce the appearance of discoloration and improve skin brightness—and improvement can be seen in as little as two weeks. Furthermore, this daily dark spot corrector has been shown to provide 81% average improvement in the appearance of post-blemish marks, 59% average improvement in the appearance of discoloration, and 60% average reduction in the appearance of recurring discoloration after 12 weeks.

Adults with acne-prone skin may also be concerned about visible signs of aging in addition to skin discoloration and uneven skin texture—and our Blemish + Age Defense is a skin serum designed to address all of these issues at once. With a unique blend of dioic, alpha-, and beta-hydroxy acids, this oil-free serum gently exfoliates to help decongest pores, minimize acne and oil production, and smooth surface texture. As an added plus, Blemish + Age Defense also helps improve the appearance of fine lines, wrinkles, blotchiness, and uneven skin tone—without the excessive dryness or irritation commonly associated with traditional acne treatments.

3. Professional treatments

Professional, office-based treatments such as chemical peels and Intense Pulsed Light (IPL) can offer significant improvement for post-acne skin discoloration. Chemical peels promote an even-toned complexion by exfoliating the skin’s uppermost layers and revealing fresh, healthy-looking skin. IPL is a light-based treatment that sends high-intensity light into the deeper layers of the skin to help fade visible pigment. However, this treatment may not be appropriate for those with darker skin, which is why it’s important to consult with a SkinCeuticals skincare professional who can recommend the ideal office-based solution and at-home skincare for your post-acne skin discoloration.

Related products

Related articles

ACNE

Soothing Solutions for Acne-Prone Skin

Discover a gentle approach to taking of acne-prone skin that doesn’t involve harsh, irritating skincare products that can do more harm than good.



Read More

ANTIOXIDANT AUTHORITY

AOX: What to Look for in a Vitamin C serum

Learn more about Vitamin C Serums and how they can be the perfect additions to your skincare regimen for a more even skin tone and brighter, radiant skin

Read More

SUNCARE

Sun: Why It’s Important to Choose a Mineral Sunscreen

Protect your skin from the harmful consequences of sun exposure and learn more about the benefits of mineral sunscreens over chemical sunscreens.


Read More

Orientation message
For the best experience, please turn your device

Main content

Comment prévenir et corriger la décoloration
de la peau après l'acné ?

DÉCOLORATION DE LA PEAU, DÉCOLORATION DE L'ACNÉ, SÉRUM À LA VITAMINE C, PIGMENTATION DE LA PEAU, CORRECTEUR DE TACHES FONCÉES

Comment prévenir et corriger la décoloration de la peau après l'acné ?

  1. Soins anti-acnéiques
  2. Prévenir la décoloration post-acnéique
  3. Traitements ciblés pour la décoloration de la peau
  4. Traitements ciblés de la décoloration de la peau
  5. Les traitements professionnels

Le combat contre la peau et l'acné n'est pas tout à fait terminé lorsque les imperfections ont disparu. La décoloration de la peau acnéique, sous forme de taches rouges sur la peau, peut persister après la guérison de l'acné. Il est toutefois important de comprendre que ces taches ne sont pas techniquement des cicatrices, mais plutôt des zones de pigmentation accrue qui se forment en réponse à l'inflammation de la peau ; nous avons donc affaire à une décoloration de la peau du visage. Suivez ces étapes simples pour venir à bout de la décoloration due à l'acné.

1. Un ton de peau inégal

Une peau acnéique nécessite une routine personnalisée et ciblée pour s'assurer que les pores ne sont pas obstrués. Un régime anti-acné devrait inclure une exfoliation douce avec des ingrédients comme les acides lipo-hydroxy et salicylique, ainsi que des traitements ciblés contre les taches d'acné qui aident à minimiser l'excès de sébum. Le rétinol peut être un autre ingrédient utile, car ce dérivé de la vitamine A fait double emploi en favorisant l'élimination des cellules mortes de la peau qui peuvent potentiellement obstruer les pores tout en aidant à améliorer l'apparence de la décoloration de la peau.

2. Vieillissement et dommages causés par le soleil

Il est également important de prendre des mesures qui peuvent aider à prévenir la décoloration de peau acnéique pendant que vous maîtrisez votre teint. La règle la plus importante est peut-être d'éviter d'arracher les imperfections actives ou les croûtes qui peuvent se former pendant la cicatrisation de la peau. En outre, un sérum antioxydant quotidien à la vitamine C, tel que notre Phloretin CF, peut être le meilleur choix pour les personnes ayant une peau normale, grasse ou mixte, sujette aux éruptions. Outre l'acide L-ascorbique (la forme la plus pure de la vitamine C) et l'acide férulique, ce cocktail antioxydant contient un antioxydant d'origine végétale appelé phlorétine, dont il a été démontré qu'il protège contre les dommages causés par les radicaux libres qui peuvent contribuer à la décoloration de la peau, tout en améliorant le teint inégal existant.

Le moyen le plus simple de prévenir la décoloration due à l'acné est d'utiliser un écran solaire minéral. Et pas seulement une fois toutes les deux semaines : une utilisation quotidienne. Les rayons UV jouent un rôle majeur dans le développement des pigments de la peau et la protection de la peau contre l'exposition au soleil peut aider à minimiser l'apparition de marques acnéiques tenaces une fois les imperfections guéries. Nous proposons plusieurs options d'écran solaire minéral SPF 50, dont des formules améliorant l'éclat et matifiant qui améliorent instantanément l'apparence du teint et aident à absorber l'excès de sébum tout au long de la journée.

3. Melasma

Bien que plusieurs ingrédients efficaces pour les peau acnéique puissent également aider à améliorer l'apparence des marques acnéiques, les produits spécifiquement formulés pour traiter la décoloration de la peau peuvent aider à obtenir les meilleurs résultats possibles - et souvent en moins de temps.

Intégrez un correcteur de taches brunes pour cibler et réduire les signes de décoloration dus à l'acné. Sérum léger à usage quotidien, Discoloration Defense a démontré sa capacité à réduire de manière significative l'apparence des décolorations cutanées visibles, notamment les marques post-acnéiques rouges et brunes. Composé de 3 % d'acide tranexamique, 1 % d'acide kojique, 5 % de niacinamide et 5 % d'HEPES (un acide sulfonique qui favorise le processus naturel d'exfoliation de la peau), ce puissant cocktail d'ingrédients anti-décoloration agit en synergie pour favoriser l'uniformité du teint, prévenir la formation de nouvelles taches brunes sur le visage, réduire l'apparence des décolorations et améliorer l'éclat de la peau. En outre, il a été démontré que ce correcteur quotidien de taches rouges sur la peau apporte une amélioration moyenne de 81 % de l'apparence des marques post-imperfections, une amélioration moyenne de 59 % de l'apparence des décolorations et une réduction moyenne de 60 % de l'apparence des décolorations récurrentes après 12 semaines.

Les adultes à la peau sujette à l'acné peuvent également être préoccupés par les signes visibles du vieillissement, en plus de la décoloration et de la texture inégale de la peau. Notre Blemish + Age Defense est un sérum pour la peau conçu pour traiter tous ces problèmes à la fois. Grâce à un mélange unique d'acides dioïque, alpha et bêta-hydroxy, ce sérum sans huile exfolie en douceur pour aider à décongestionner les pores, minimiser l'acné et la production de sébum, et lisser la texture de la surface. En outre, Blemish + Age Defense aide également à améliorer l'apparence des lignes fines, des rides, des taches et du teint inégal, sans la sécheresse excessive ou l'irritation généralement associées aux traitements traditionnels contre l'acné.

4. Traitements professionnels

Les traitements professionnels en cabinet, tels que les peelings chimiques et la lumière intense pulsée (IPL), peuvent améliorer considérablement la décoloration de la peau post-acné. Les peelings chimiques favorisent un teint uniforme en exfoliant les couches supérieures de la peau et en révélant une peau fraîche et d'apparence saine. L'IPL est un traitement à base de lumière qui envoie une lumière de haute intensité dans les couches profondes de la peau pour aider à estomper les pigments visibles. Cependant, ce traitement peut ne pas convenir aux personnes à la peau plus foncée, c'est pourquoi il est important de consulter un professionnel des soins de la peau SkinCeuticals qui pourra vous recommander la solution idéale en cabinet et les soins à domicile pour votre décoloration cutanée post-acné.

Produits connexes

Articles Liés

ACNÉ

Les meilleures solutions pour les peaux à tendance acnéique

Découvrez comment traiter les peaux acnéique grâce au guide de SkinCeuticals. Qu'il s'agisse de nettoyants ou de sérums, apprenez-en les meilleures options.


Lire la suite

AUTORITÉ ANTIOXYDANTE

AOX : Ce qu'il faut rechercher dans un sérum à la vitamine C

Les bienfaits de la vitamine c sont nombreux pour la peau. Découvrez pourquoi vous devriez ajouter des sérums vitamine C à votre régime de soins de la peau.


Lire la suite

PROTECTION SOLAIRE

Écran solaire minéral ou chimique : Le minéral est-il supérieur ?

La protection solaire est l'une des facettes les plus importantes d'une routine de soins de la peau. Apprenez tout sur les différences entre les écrans solaires minéraux et chimiques.


Lire la suite

Orientation message
For the best experience, please turn your device