Main content

LASER

Ablative Laser

This minimally-invasive treatment utilizes an ablative laser to resurface the skin, improving wrinkles, acne scars, sun damage, and uneven skin tone.

Ablative Laser

LASER

Ablative Laser

This minimally-invasive treatment utilizes an ablative laser to resurface the skin, improving wrinkles, acne scars, sun damage, and uneven skin tone.

HELPS ADDRESS:1

  • Mild to moderate wrinkles
  • Skin growths (such as warts)
  • Birthmarks
  • Liver spots or age spots
  • Uneven skin tone
  • Sun-damaged skin
  • Acne or other scarring
  • Stretch marks
  • Texture

PRICE RANGE: The average cost is estimated at $2,500, but costs will differ depending upon location, technology used and expertise of physician/clinician.

AVERAGE DOWNTIME:
2-4 weeks, although in some cases skin may appear pink or red for several months post-procedure. Newer fiber “cold” laser technology may decrease downtime considerably depending upon the depth and condition of treated targets.2

FIND A PHYSICIAN

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS ABOUT ABLATIVE LASERS >

Ablative Laser at a Glance

An ablative laser functions via an intense heat to vaporize or “ablate” skin cells. During an ablative laser resurfacing, an intense beam of light energy is directed at the specific target on the skin. The laser beam destroys the epidermis or outer layer of the skin while heating the underlying tissue to a temperature capable of denaturing existing collagen and stimulating new collagen production which will develop over time (commonly up to 6 months post-procedure). The result is improved appearance, tone, and texture of the skin.

What to Know About Ablative Laser

Ablative laser skin resurfacing has the potential for some significant social downtime. In some cases the treated areas are bandaged and kept covered for multiple days after the laser treatment. Patients should also be prepared to avoid activities such as gym workouts or environments such as swimming pools where infection is a risk after laser skin resurfacing. It’s important to follow all post-procedure care as instructed by the performing physician, but in general Patients can generally return to work 14 to 21 days following a full field face CO2 ablative laser resurfacing and 3 to 8 days following a full field Er:YAG laser skin resurfacing. Fractional CO2 lasers generally require a 4 to 10 day recovery period, while only 1 to 3 days off work are recommended after fractional Er:YAG laser skin resurfacing.3 Anyone considering ablative laser resurfacing should be informed and prepared to ensure optimal recovery with minimal complications.

Ablative laser, while very effective, may not be an appropriate treatment for some patients with darker skin tones. Because pigment in the skin absorbs more light energy, both ablative laser and non-ablative laser may pose the risk for thermal injury beyond the treated area resulting in damage to the skin and areas of hyperpigmentation. In some cases, clinicians may still safely administer an ablative laser by using lower settings or limiting the number of passes, but that determination should be made by an experienced clinician with a history of success in laser skin resurfacing and laser skin tightening with an ablative laser on darker skin tones.

Book a 1:1 Online Consultation with
an Expert

BOOK TODAY >

Build Your Personalized Skincare Routine

FIND YOUR ROUTINE >
 
FAQ




Answers to your frequently asked
ablative laser questions.

Ablative Laser References

Peer-reviewed, substantiated scientific research is used to assess ingredients in this glossary. Regulations regarding usage constraints, permitted concentration levels and availability vary by country and region.

1 https://www.plasticsurgery.org/cosmetic-procedures/laser-skin-resurfacing/cost#:~:text=How%20much%20does%20laser%20skin,not%20include%20other%20related%20expenses.
2 https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/worlds-first-fda-approved-cold-ablative-fiber-laser-makes-us-debut-301534988.html
3 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK557474/
4 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK557474/
5 https://www.biospace.com/article/releases/world-s-first-fda-approved-cold-ablative-fiber-laser-makes-us-debut/
6 https://ultraclearlaser.com/
7 ablative laser skin resurfacing describes the process of removing the epidermal and superficial dermal layers of the skin to reduce cutaneous signs of photoaging
8 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK557474/
9 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK557474/


Related Articles




Orientation message
For the best experience, please turn your device

Main content

LASER

Ablative Laser

This minimally-invasive treatment utilizes an ablative laser to resurface the skin, improving wrinkles, acne scars, sun damage, and uneven skin tone.

Ablative Laser

LASER

Laser ablatif

Ce traitement peu invasif utilise un laser ablatif pour resurfacer la peau, améliorant les rides, les cicatrices d'acné, les dommages causés par le soleil et le teint irrégulier.

AIDE À ADRESSER:

  • Rides légères à modérées
  • Croissances cutanées (comme les verrues)
  • Taches de naissance
  • Taches de foie ou taches de vieillesse
  • Teint irrégulier
  • Peau endommagée par le soleil
  • Acné ou autres cicatrices
  • Vergetures
  • Texture

GAMME DE PRIX: Le coût moyen est estimé à 2 500 $, mais les coûts varieront en fonction de l'emplacement, de la technologie utilisée et de l'expertise du médecin/clinicien.

DURÉE MOYENNE DE RÉCUPÉRATION:
2 à 4 semaines, bien que dans certains cas la peau puisse apparaître rose ou rouge pendant plusieurs mois après l'intervention. La nouvelle technologie du laser à fibre "froid" peut réduire considérablement le temps d'immobilisation en fonction de la profondeur et de l'état des cibles traitées.2

TROUVER UN MÉDECIN

QUESTIONS FRÉQUEMMENT POSÉES SUR LES LASERS ABLATIFS >

Un laser ablatif en un coup d'œil

Un laser ablatif fonctionne via une chaleur intense pour vaporiser ou "ablater" les cellules de la peau. Pendant une resurfaçage au laser ablatif, un faisceau intense d'énergie lumineuse est dirigé vers la cible spécifique sur la peau. Le faisceau laser détruit l'épiderme ou la couche externe de la peau tout en chauffant le tissu sous-jacent à une température capable de dénaturer le collagène existant et de stimuler la production de nouveau collagène qui se développera avec le temps (généralement jusqu'à 6 mois après la procédure). Le résultat est une amélioration de l'apparence, de la tonalité et de la texture de la peau.

Ce qu'il faut savoir sur le laser ablatif

Le resurfaçage cutané au laser ablatif peut entraîner une période de récupération sociale significative. Dans certains cas, les zones traitées sont bandées et gardées couvertes pendant plusieurs jours après le traitement au laser. Les patients doivent également être prêts à éviter des activités telles que les entraînements en salle de sport ou les environnements tels que les piscines où le risque d'infection est présent après un resurfaçage cutané au laser. Il est important de suivre tous les soins postopératoires tels qu'indiqués par le médecin traitant, mais en général, les patients peuvent généralement retourner au travail 14 à 21 jours après un resurfaçage cutané au laser ablatif CO2 sur tout le visage et 3 à 8 jours après un resurfaçage cutané au laser Er:YAG sur tout le visage. Les lasers CO2 fractionnés nécessitent généralement une période de récupération de 4 à 10 jours, tandis que seulement 1 à 3 jours d'arrêt de travail sont recommandés après un resurfaçage cutané au laser Er:YAG fractionné. Toute personne envisageant un resurfaçage cutané au laser ablatif doit être informée et prête à garantir une récupération optimale avec un minimum de complications.

Le laser ablatif, bien que très efficace, peut ne pas être un traitement approprié pour certains patients à la peau plus foncée. Parce que le pigment de la peau absorbe plus d'énergie lumineuse, à la fois le laser ablatif et le laser non ablatif peuvent présenter un risque de lésions thermiques au-delà de la zone traitée, entraînant des dommages à la peau et des zones d'hyperpigmentation. Dans certains cas, les cliniciens peuvent encore administrer en toute sécurité un laser ablatif en utilisant des réglages plus bas ou en limitant le nombre de passages, mais cette décision doit être prise par un clinicien expérimenté ayant une expérience réussie dans le resurfaçage cutané au laser et le resserrement cutané au laser avec un laser ablatif sur des tons de peau plus foncés.

Réservez une consultation en ligne 1:1
avec un expert

RÉSERVEZ AUJOURD'HUI >

Créez votre routine de soins personnalisée

TROUVEZ VOTRE ROUTINE >
 
FAQ




Réponses aux questions les plus
fréquentes sur le laser ablatif.

Références du laser ablatif

Les ingrédients de ce glossaire sont évalués sur la base de recherches scientifiques validées par des pairs. Les réglementations concernant les contraintes d'utilisation, les niveaux de concentration autorisés et la disponibilité varient selon les pays et les régions.

1 https://www.plasticsurgery.org/cosmetic-procedures/laser-skin-resurfacing/cost#:~:text=How%20much%20does%20laser%20skin,not%20include%20other%20related%20expenses.
2 https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/worlds-first-fda-approved-cold-ablative-fiber-laser-makes-us-debut-301534988.html
3 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK557474/
4 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK557474/
5 https://www.biospace.com/article/releases/world-s-first-fda-approved-cold-ablative-fiber-laser-makes-us-debut/
6 https://ultraclearlaser.com/
7 La dermabrasion au laser ablatif décrit le processus de retrait des couches épidermiques et dermiques superficielles de la peau pour réduire les signes cutanés du photo-vieillissement
8 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK557474/
9 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK557474/


Articles Connexes




Orientation message
For the best experience, please turn your device