Main content

Aging on Skin: The 4 Most Telling Areas

TAGS: SKIN DISCOLORATION, EYE CREAM, SPF 50, SUNSCREEN, VITAMIN C SERUM, EYE SERUM, FINE LINES AND WRINKLES

Aging on Skin: The 4 Most Telling Areas

  1. The eyes
  2. The neck
  3. The chest
  4. The hands

If you’ve committed to using an advanced skincare regimen that’s tailored to meet your skin’s needs every morning and night, odds are your skin is in great shape health- and appearance-wise. With all the basics covered, including face cleanser, moisturizer, and targeted treatments, your skin is in great shape and you feel radiant. However, there are four important areas that require special attention. Read on to learn more about the skin areas that should be part of your daily skincare regimen, at least if you don’t want them to reveal your true age.

1. The eyes

The skin around the eye contour area is usually among the first to show visible signs of aging since it’s ten times thinner than other facial skin and is more prone to damage. Sun exposure and a lifetime of facial expressions contribute to aging changes such as fine lines and wrinkles, puffiness, under eye dark circles, and skin laxity in this delicate area.

SkinCeuticals recommends implementing an eye cream daily. Formulated to target crow’s feet, dark circles, and puffiness, our A.G.E. Eye Complex is an advanced eye cream that also features optical-diffusing pigments to instantly enhance eye-area radiance. For those with dry, mature skin, our Eye Balm targets loss of moisture, skin laxity, and wrinkles associated with environmental damage. Skincare tip: Use your ring finger to gently pat eye cream into the skin to avoid pulling and tugging.

Regardless of age, protecting the eye area from UV rays and other environmental aggressors can go a long way for maintaining a youthful appearance. Eye serum and implementing sunscreen daily are two options that make the task simple. Our AOX+ Eye Gel is a lightweight eye serum that provides antioxidant protection against free-radical damage with pure vitamin C, phloretin, and ferulic acid while helping to improve the appearance of fine lines, puffiness, under-eye circles, and signs of fatigue. Daily sunscreen use is essential for the eye area at every age as well, and our gentle, non-migrating, skin-nourishing mineral sunscreen Physical Eye UF Defense is SPF 50 is specially formulated with a universal tint to help even out skin tone—and it acts as a primer that helps keep eye makeup in place as well!

2. The neck

Just because it's a direct facial area, does not mean it doesn't require the same TLC as everything else.

The skin on the neck is quite similar to delicate skin around the eyes, as it displays age-related changes as early as the twenties (especially if you’re looking down at your phone all day). The natural decline of collagen over time leads to horizontal lines, loose skin, a crepey appearance, and skin discoloration, and the causes of these changes are generally the same as those that contribute to facial aging (namely the natural aging process and sun damage).

The ideal neck skincare regimen includes a topical antioxidant, daily SPF 50 sunscreen, and a targeted treatment like the neck cream Tripeptide-R Neck Repair that addresses signs of aging and sagging. (This advanced corrective CREAM/FLUID/SERUM??? is also beneficial for anyone concerned about device-induced aging who wants to look their best in selfies or Zoom meetings.) As an added plus, this targeted daily-use at-home treatment can complement professional fat-freezing treatments for reducing a double chin and office-based radiofrequency treatments for firming and tightening the skin. Skincare tip: When applying moisturizer and other skincare products to the neck, it’s best to use gentle, upward strokes. (Gravity does enough to pull skin down!)

3. The chest

The idea of a smooth transition from the face to neck applies to the skin between the neck and chest. This area is also home to thinner, more delicate skin that is also prone to age-related changes like wrinkling, crepiness, and most of all, skin discoloration. If you’ve been neglecting your neck skincare-wise, the chances that you’ve been treating your chest are slim to none, so you may notice more significant visible signs of aging here.

In addition to including your decolletage in your morning and evening skincare regimens (and using a topical antioxidant and SPF 50 sunscreen), a targeted treatment can enhance visible skin improvement in this age-revealing area as well. Our Neck, Chest & Hand Repair is formulated with a powerful blend of ingredients that helps fade the appearance of age spots and support the skin’s collagen for smoother, tighter, more even-toned skin. Skincare tip: In cases of advanced signs of aging and sun damage, Intense Pulsed Light (IPL) and non-ablative lasers can help bring the appearance of the chest more in line with the face and neck.

4. The hands

Perhaps the biggest age-revealer of them all, the hands can look years older than the face, neck, and chest when you compare them side by side. This area is prone to an array of changes that include skin thinning, crepiness, and skin discoloration in the form of age spots since it is often left unprotected from the sun and exposed to harsh chemicals while cleaning and doing dishes, and the plethora of daily activities we put them through. This area also experiences a loss of fat over time, which makes bones, veins, and musculature more visible. For optimal results, try SkinCeuticals Neck, Chest & Hand Repair, providing the same improvement for signs of aging on the backs of the hands as it does for skin further north. Skincare tip: While it’s important to reapply SPF 50 sunscreen to the face and other skin exposed to UV rays throughout the day, don’t forget to reapply to your hands after every time you wash to prevent sun damage and visible signs of aging.

Related products

Related articles

SUNCARE

Sun: Why It’s Important to Choose a Mineral Sunscreen

Protect your skin from the harmful consequences of sun exposure and learn more about the benefits of mineral sunscreens over chemical sunscreens.


Read More

ANTIOXIDANT AUTHORITY

Vitamin C for Different Skin Types

Protect and improve the appearance of your skin by choosing the Vitamin C skincare product that addresses your skin type’s needs and concerns.



Read More

HYPERPIGMENTATION

The Essential Products for Skin Discoloration

Learn more about which skincare products can help you prevent, correct and protect you against skin discoloration, from dark spots to brown patches of skin.

Read More

Orientation message
For the best experience, please turn your device

Main content

Vieillissement de la peau :
Les 4 zones les plus révélatrices

DÉCOLORATION DE LA PEAU, CRÈME POUR LES YEUX, SPF 50, CRÈME SOLAIRE, SÉRUM À LA VITAMINE C, SÉRUM POUR LES YEUX, RIDES ET RIDES

Vieillissement de la peau : Les 4 zones les plus révélatrices

  1. Les yeux
  2. Le cou
  3. La poitrine
  4. Les mains

Si vous vous êtes engagé à utiliser un programme de soins avancé, adapté aux besoins de votre peau, matin et soir, il y a de fortes chances que votre peau soit en pleine forme, tant sur le plan de la santé que de l'apparence. Avec tous les éléments de base couverts, notamment un nettoyant pour le visage, une crème hydratante et des traitements ciblés, votre peau est en pleine forme et vous vous sentez radieuse. Cependant, il existe quatre zones importantes qui nécessitent une attention particulière. Lisez la suite pour en savoir plus sur les zones de la peau qui devraient faire partie de votre régime de soins quotidien, du moins si vous ne voulez pas qu'elles révèlent votre véritable âge.

1. Les yeux

La peau du contour des yeux est généralement l'une des premières à montrer des signes visibles de vieillissement, car elle est dix fois plus fine que la peau du reste du visage et est plus sujette aux dommages. L'exposition au soleil et une vie entière d'expressions faciales contribuent aux changements du vieillissement tels que les rides et ridules, les poches, les cernes et la laxité de la peau dans cette zone délicate.

SkinCeuticals recommande d'appliquer quotidiennement une crème pour les yeux cernes. Formulé pour cibler les pattes d'oie, les cernes et les poches, notre complexe pour les yeux A.G.E. est une crème avancée pour les yeux qui contient également des pigments diffuseurs d'optique pour améliorer instantanément l'éclat du contour des yeux. Pour les personnes à la peau sèche et mature, notre baume pour les yeux cible la perte d'hydratation, le relâchement de la peau et les rides associées aux dommages environnementaux. Conseil de soin : Utilisez votre annulaire pour faire pénétrer la crème pour les yeux en tapotant délicatement sur la peau, afin d'éviter de tirer sur la peau.

Quel que soit l'âge, la protection du contour des yeux contre les rayons UV et les autres agressions environnementales peut grandement contribuer à maintenir une apparence jeune. Le sérum pour les yeux et l'application quotidienne d'un écran solaire sont deux options qui rendent la tâche simple. Notre gel pour les yeux AOX+ est un sérum léger pour les yeux qui offre une protection antioxydante contre les dommages causés par les radicaux libres grâce à de la vitamine C pure, de la phlorétine et de l'acide férulique, tout en contribuant à améliorer l'apparence des ridules, des poches, des cernes et des signes de fatigue. L'utilisation quotidienne d'un écran solaire est également essentielle pour le contour des yeux à tout âge, et notre écran solaire minéral doux, non migrant et nourrissant pour la peau, Physical Eye UF Defense SPF 50, est spécialement formulé avec une teinte universelle pour aider à uniformiser le teint de la peau - et il agit comme un apprêt qui aide à maintenir le maquillage des yeux en place !

2. Le cou

Ce n'est pas parce qu'il s'agit d'une zone directe du visage qu'elle ne nécessite pas les mêmes soins que les autres.

La peau du cou est assez similaire à la peau délicate du contour des yeux, car elle présente des changements liés à l'âge dès la vingtaine (surtout si vous regardez votre téléphone toute la journée). Le déclin naturel du collagène au fil du temps entraîne l'apparition de lignes horizontales, d'une peau lâche, d'un aspect crépu et d'une décoloration de la peau. Les causes de ces changements sont généralement les mêmes que celles qui contribuent au vieillissement du visage (à savoir le processus naturel de vieillissement et les dommages causés par le soleil).

Le régime de soins idéal pour le cou comprend un antioxydant topique, un écran solaire quotidien SPF 50 et un traitement ciblé comme la crème pour le cou Tripeptide-R Neck Repair qui s'attaque aux signes de vieillissement et d'affaissement. En outre, ce traitement ciblé à usage quotidien à domicile peut compléter les traitements professionnels de congélation des graisses pour réduire le double menton et les traitements par radiofréquence en cabinet pour raffermir et resserrer la peau. Conseil de soin : lorsque vous appliquez de la crème hydratante et d'autres produits de soin sur le cou, il est préférable d'effectuer des mouvements doux et ascendants. (La gravité suffit à tirer la peau vers le bas !)

3. La poitrine

L'idée d'une transition douce entre le visage et le cou s'applique à la peau située entre le cou et la poitrine. Cette zone abrite une peau plus fine et plus délicate qui est également sujette aux changements liés à l'âge, comme les rides, les crevasses et, surtout, la décoloration de la peau. Si vous avez négligé les soins de la peau de votre cou, il y a peu de chances que vous ayez traité votre poitrine, et vous risquez donc de remarquer des signes visibles de vieillissement plus importants ici.

En plus d'inclure votre décolleté dans votre programme de soins du matin et du soir (et d'utiliser un antioxydant topique et un écran solaire SPF 50), un traitement ciblé peut améliorer l'aspect de la peau dans cette zone qui révèle l'âge. Notre soin réparateur pour le cou, la poitrine et les mains est formulé avec un puissant mélange d'ingrédients qui aide à estomper l'apparence des taches de vieillesse et à soutenir le collagène de la peau pour une peau plus lisse, plus tendue et au teint plus uniforme. Conseil : en cas de signes avancés de vieillissement et de dommages causés par le soleil, la lumière pulsée intense (IPL) et les lasers non ablatifs peuvent aider à harmoniser l'apparence de la poitrine avec celle du visage et du cou.

4. Les mains

Peut-être le plus grand révélateur de l'âge de tous, les mains peuvent paraître des années plus vieilles que le visage, le cou et la poitrine lorsque vous les comparez côte à côte. Cette zone est sujette à toute une série de changements, notamment l'amincissement de la peau, la crépuscularité et la décoloration de la peau sous forme de taches de vieillesse, car elle est souvent laissée sans protection contre le soleil et exposée à des produits chimiques agressifs lors du nettoyage et de la vaisselle, ainsi qu'à la pléthore d'activités quotidiennes que nous lui faisons subir. Cette zone subit également une perte de graisse avec le temps, ce qui rend les os, les veines et la musculature plus visibles. Pour des résultats optimaux, essayez SkinCeuticals Neck, Chest & Hand Repair, qui apporte la même amélioration des signes de vieillissement sur le dos des mains que sur la peau plus au nord. Conseil de soin : s'il est important de renouveler l'application d'un écran solaire SPF 50 sur le visage et les autres parties de la peau exposées aux rayons UV tout au long de la journée, n'oubliez pas de renouveler l'application sur vos mains après chaque lavage pour prévenir les dommages causés par le soleil et les signes visibles de vieillissement.

Produits connexes

Articles Liés

PROTECTION SOLAIRE

Écran solaire minéral ou chimique : Le minéral est-il supérieur ?

La protection solaire est l'une des facettes les plus importantes d'une routine de soins de la peau. Apprenez tout sur les différences entre les écrans solaires minéraux et chimiques.


Lire la suite

AUTORITÉ ANTIOXYDANTE

La vitamine C pour différents types de peau

Les différents types de peau nécessitent soin de la peau différents. Répondez aux besoins de votre type de peau en choisissant les produits à la vitamine C appropriés.


Lire la suite

HYPERPIGMENTATION

Les produits essentiels pour la décoloration de la peau

La décoloration de la peau et les taches sur la peau ne sont pas ce que vous voulez voir dès le matin. Laissez SkinCeuticals vous aider à prévenir, corriger et protéger la décoloration de la peau.


Lire la suite

Orientation message
For the best experience, please turn your device