Main content
  1. Home
  2. My Skin Story
  3. Antioxidant Authority

Vitamin C for Different Skin Types

TAGS: VITAMIN C SERUM, SKIN DISCOLORATION, EYE SERUM, ANTIOXIDANT SERUM, FACE SERUM

Vitamin C for Different Skin Types

  1. What is an antioxidant?
  2. A closer look at vitamin C
  3. What is ferulic acid?
  4. Normal, dry, and combination skin types
  5. Normal, oily and combination skin types
  6. All skin types

Vitamin C is a key skincare ingredient for all types of skin. An essential step in any morning regimen, vitamin C serum helps protect skin from environmental damage (especially when used in conjunction with sunscreen) and this hard-working product can help improve a variety of skin concerns as well. The best, most effective vitamin C serum can also depend on your skin type—but first, it’s important to understand what an antioxidant is and how vitamin C works.

1. What is an antioxidant?

Before moving forward into the nitty gritty of vitamin c, we must first answer: what are antioxidants? Antioxidants are compounds that neutralize free radicals, which are unstable molecules that are generated by UV rays and pollution, as well as lifestyle factors like cigarette smoking. Free radicals are highly reactive and cause damage to cells in the skin (and the entire body). Without antioxidant protection for the skin, free-radical damage can contribute to visible signs of aging like fine lines, wrinkles, discoloration, loss of skin firmness, and potentially skin cancer. Different combinations of antioxidants are often found in skincare products, since these compounds help each other perform better.

2. A closer look at vitamin C

Vitamin C can go by several names when used in skincare products, but the purest, most widely studied, and most effective is L-ascorbic acid. Based on this scientific research, SkinCeuticals only uses L-ascorbic acid in its vitamin C serum offerings, as research has shown it provides the greatest level of protection against free-radical damage caused by environmental assaults like UV rays, infrared radiation (IRA), pollution, and lifestyle factors, while delivering other benefits such as stimulating collagen production plus improvement in visible signs of aging like wrinkles, skin laxity, and skin discoloration as well. All of SkinCeuticals’ topical vitamin C serums feature L-ascorbic acid, but each formula is tailored for specific skin types and concerns with the addition of other antioxidants.

3. What is ferulic acid?

Another key antioxidant, ferulic acid is naturally found in numerous plants, including grains, fruits, and vegetables. Over time, research has proved that this ingredient’s powerful antioxidant capabilities that help neutralize the damaging effects of free radicals in the upper layers of skin, which is why a face serum with ferulic acid can provide significant anti-aging benefits. Studies have also found that ferulic acid enhances the antioxidant benefits of L-ascorbic acid, which is why this ingredient is included in several of SkinCeuticals’ topical antioxidants.

4. Normal, dry, and combination skin types

​C E Ferulic® is recommended for normal and dry skin. This daily vitamin C serum is a valuable addition to any morning skincare regimen. Featuring L-ascorbic acid, ferulic acid, and tocopherol (vitamin E), this topical antioxidant provides superior environmental protection as it offers visible anti-aging benefits, including improvement in the appearance of fine lines, wrinkles, loss of firmness, dullness, and uneven skin tone. Who doesn't want to rid their skin of all these issues? SkinCeuticals tip: For the most extensive environmental protection, it’s best to pair our antioxidant serum C E Ferulic® with sunscreen each and every day, and we offer tinted and sheer fluid formulations that work well for normal, dry, and combination skin.

5. Normal, oily and combination skin types

For those with normal and oily skin, Skinceuticals recommends the face serum Phloretin CF. This daytime vitamin C serum is also formulated with L-ascorbic acid and ferulic acid, but the addition of an antioxidant called phloretin makes it unique. Derived from apples, pears, and other plants, and in addition to neutralizing free radicals generated by UV rays, infrared radiation (IRA) and ozone pollution, phloretin has been shown to enhance the action of other antioxidants, improve the appearance of uneven skin tone, and help minimize the look of sun-induced damage. Fun fact: Once absorbed, vitamin C serums like Phloretin CF and C E Ferulic® remain effective for a minimum of 72 hours.

6. All skin types

For vitamin c serum beginners, Serum 10 AOX+ may be right for you. With lower concentrations of L-ascorbic acid and ferulic acid, this skincare product minimizes the potential for stinging, burning, and skin irritation while providing protection against atmospheric aging and improvement in early signs of aging.

The delicate eye area is often left vulnerable to environmental damage, which is why we formulated a dedicated antioxidant serum for this specific spot. AOX+ Eye Gel is an eye serum that offers advanced environmental protection courtesy of L-ascorbic acid, ferulic acid, and phloretin plus caffeine and ruscus aculeatus extract to help reduce the look of puffiness and dark, under-eye circles, making it a great skincare step before you face the day.

Related products

Related articles

ANTIOXIDANT AUTHORITY

AOX: What to Look for in a Vitamin C serum

Learn more about Vitamin C Serums and how they can be the perfect additions to your skincare regimen for a more even skin tone and brighter, radiant skin

Read More

ANTIOXIDANT AUTHORITY

Ingredient Spotlight: L-ascorbic Acid

Lean more about L-ascorbic Acid, a powerful skincare ingredient that offers anti-aging benefits, protection against free-radical damage and more.



Read More

ACNE

Soothing Solutions for Acne-Prone Skin

Discover a gentle approach to taking of acne-prone skin that doesn’t involve harsh, irritating skincare products that can do more harm than good.



Read More

Orientation message
For the best experience, please turn your device

Main content
  1. Home
  2. My Skin Story
  3. Antioxidant Authority

La vitamine C pour différents types de peau

SÉRUM À LA VITAMINE C, DÉCOLORATION DE LA PEAU, SÉRUM POUR LES YEUX, SÉRUM ANTIOXYDANT, SÉRUM POUR LE VISAGE

La vitamine C pour différents types de peau

  1. Qu'est-ce qu'un antioxydant ?
  2. Un regard plus attentif sur la vitamine C
  3. Qu'est-ce que l'acide férulique ?
  4. Types de peau normale, sèche et mixte
  5. Types de peaux normales, grasses et mixtes
  6. Tous les types de peau

La vitamine C est un ingrédient de soin essentiel pour tous les types de peau. Étape essentielle de tout régime matinal, le sérum vitamine C aide à protéger la peau des dommages causés par l'environnement (en particulier lorsqu'il est utilisé en association avec un écran solaire) et ce produit très efficace peut également contribuer à améliorer divers problèmes de peau. Le meilleur sérum vitamine C, le plus efficace, peut également dépendre de votre type de peau, mais il est d'abord important de comprendre ce qu'est un antioxydant et comment la vitamine C fonctionne.

1. Qu'est-ce qu'un antioxydant ?

Avant d'entrer dans le vif du sujet de la vitamine C, nous devons d'abord répondre à la question suivante : que sont les antioxydants ? Les antioxydants sont des composés qui neutralisent les radicaux libres, qui sont des molécules instables générées par les rayons UV et la pollution, ainsi que par des facteurs liés au mode de vie comme le tabagisme. Les radicaux libres sont très réactifs et endommagent les cellules de la peau (et du corps entier). Sans protection antioxydante pour la peau, les dommages causés par les radicaux libres peuvent contribuer à l'apparition de signes visibles de vieillissement tels que les rides et ridules, la décoloration, la perte de fermeté de la peau et, éventuellement, le cancer de la peau. On trouve souvent différentes combinaisons d'antioxydants dans les produits de soins de la peau, car ces composés s'aident mutuellement à mieux fonctionner.

2. Un regard plus attentif sur la vitamine C

La vitamine C peut porter plusieurs noms lorsqu'elle est utilisée dans des produits de soins de la peau, mais la plus pure, la plus étudiée et la plus efficace est l'acide L-ascorbique. Sur la base de cette recherche scientifique, SkinCeuticals n'utilise que de l'acide L-ascorbique dans ses sérums vitamine C, car la recherche a montré qu'il offre le plus haut niveau de protection contre les dommages causés par les radicaux libres lors d'agressions environnementales telles que les rayons UV, le rayonnement infrarouge (IRA), la pollution et les facteurs liés au mode de vie, tout en offrant d'autres avantages tels que la stimulation de la production de collagène et l'amélioration des signes visibles du vieillissement tels que les rides, le relâchement de la peau et la décoloration de la peau. Tous les sérums topiques à la vitamine C de SkinCeuticals contiennent de l'acide L-ascorbique, mais chaque formule est adaptée à des types de peau et des problèmes spécifiques grâce à l'ajout d'autres antioxydants.

3. Qu'est-ce que l'acide férulique ?

Autre antioxydant clé, l'acide férulique est naturellement présent dans de nombreuses plantes, notamment les céréales, les fruits et les légumes. Au fil du temps, la recherche a prouvé que les puissantes capacités antioxydantes de cet ingrédient aident à neutraliser les effets néfastes des radicaux libres dans les couches supérieures de la peau, ce qui explique pourquoi un sérum pour le visage contenant de l'acide férulique peut offrir des avantages anti-âge significatifs. Des études ont également montré que l'acide férulique renforce les effets antioxydants de l'acide L-ascorbique, ce qui explique pourquoi cet ingrédient est inclus dans plusieurs des antioxydants topiques de SkinCeuticals.

4. Peaux normales, sèches et mixtes

C E Ferulic® est recommandé pour les peaux normales et sèches. Ce sérum quotidien à la vitamine C est un ajout précieux à tout régime de soins de la peau du matin. Composé d'acide L-ascorbique, d'acide férulique et de tocophérol (vitamine E), cet antioxydant topique assure une protection environnementale supérieure tout en offrant des avantages anti-âge visibles, notamment l'amélioration de l'apparence des rides et ridules, la perte de fermeté, l'aspect terne et le teint inégal. Qui ne souhaite pas débarrasser sa peau de tous ces problèmes ? Conseil SkinCeuticals : Pour une protection environnementale optimale, il est préférable d'associer notre sérum antioxydant C E Ferulic® à un écran solaire tous les jours. Nous proposons des formules fluides teintées et transparentes qui conviennent parfaitement aux peaux normales, sèches et mixtes.

5. Peaux normales, grasses et mixtes

Pour les personnes ayant une peau normale et grasse, Skinceuticals recommande le sérum pour le visage Phloretin CF. Ce sérum de jour à la vitamine C est également formulé avec de l'acide L-ascorbique et de l'acide férulique, mais l'ajout d'un antioxydant appelé phlorétine le rend unique. Dérivé de la pomme, de la poire et d'autres plantes, et en plus de neutraliser les radicaux libres générés par les rayons UV, le rayonnement infrarouge (IRA) et la pollution par l'ozone, il a été démontré que la phlorétine renforce l'action d'autres antioxydants, améliore l'apparence du teint inégal et aide à minimiser l'apparence des dommages causés par le soleil. Fait amusant : une fois absorbés, les sérums de vitamine C comme Phloretin CF et C E Ferulic® restent efficaces pendant au moins 72 heures.

6. Tous les types de peau

Pour les débutants en matière de sérum à la vitamine C, le sérum 10 AOX+ est peut-être fait pour vous. Avec des concentrations plus faibles d'acide L-ascorbique et d'acide férulique, ce produit de soin de la peau minimise le potentiel de picotement, de brûlure et d'irritation de la peau tout en offrant une protection contre le vieillissement atmosphérique et une amélioration des premiers signes de vieillissement.

La zone délicate des yeux est souvent vulnérable aux dommages environnementaux, c'est pourquoi nous avons formulé un sérum antioxydant dédié à cette zone spécifique. Le gel pour les yeux AOX+ est un sérum pour les yeux qui offre une protection environnementale avancée grâce à l'acide L-ascorbique, à l'acide férulique et à la phlorétine, ainsi qu'à la caféine et à l'extrait de ruscus aculeatus, pour aider à réduire l'apparence des poches et des cernes, ce qui en fait un excellent soin de la peau avant d'affronter la journée.

Produits connexes

Articles Liés

AUTORITÉ ANTIOXYDANTE

AOX : Ce qu'il faut rechercher dans un sérum à la vitamine C

Les bienfaits de la vitamine c sont nombreux pour la peau. Découvrez pourquoi vous devriez ajouter des sérums vitamine C à votre régime de soins de la peau.

Lire la suite

AUTORITÉ ANTIOXYDANTE

Prévenir les signes visibles du vieillissement grâce à l'acide L-ascorbique

Découvrez les nombreux bienfaits pour la peau de l'acide L-ascorbique, un puissant antioxydant qui apporte à la peau des bienfaits anti-âge.


Lire la suite

ACNÉ

Les meilleures solutions pour les peaux à tendance acnéique

Découvrez comment traiter les peaux acnéique grâce au guide de SkinCeuticals. Qu'il s'agisse de nettoyants ou de sérums, apprenez-en les meilleures options.

Lire la suite

Orientation message
For the best experience, please turn your device