Main content

Mineral vs Chemical Sunscreen: Is Mineral Superior?

TAGS: SPF 50, EYE CREAM WITH SPF, MINERAL SUNSCREEN, PHYSICAL SUNSCREEN

Mineral vs Chemical Sunscreen: Is Mineral Superior?

  1. Mineral sunscreen
  2. Chemical sunscreen
  3. The benefits of mineral sunscreen

We are constantly told to apply sunscreen on a daily basis. However, with the abundance of sunscreen options on the market, it can be hard to make a concrete decision once you've got the shelf full glaring in front of you. Let's narrow down our options: based on the UV-filtering ingredients found in the formulation, a sun-protection product can be a mineral sunscreen or a chemical sunscreen—and there are several reasons to choose one over the other. But first, let’s review the basics.

A. Mineral sunscreen

Before moving forward, let's establish a baseline of knowledge: what is mineral sunscreen? Also known as "physical sunscreen", this type of sun protection relies heavily on zinc oxide and titanium dioxide to protect the skin against damage caused by UVA and UVB rays (especially when used with other sun-protection measures). These physical sunscreen filters work by creating a barrier on the skin’s surface that helps reflect the sun’s rays away from the skin, and they are ideal for both daily use as well as intense or prolonged sun exposure because they offer broad spectrum protection against both UV rays.

B. Chemical sunscreen

As the name implies, chemical sunscreens contain synthetic ingredients that penetrate the uppermost layers of the skin to absorb UVA and UVB rays before they can cause sunburn or other damage to the skin. Chemical-based UV filters include oxybenzone, octinoxate, homosalate, octisalate, and octocrylene. These sunscreen ingredients also provide effective broad spectrum protection against both uv rays. Because the ingredients are chemicals, it can at times cause mild irritations and reactions in invididuals with sensitive skin. In recent years, there has been concern about the effects these filters may have on humans through systemic absorption, and on damaging coral reefs. It is important to note that these studies are not fully proven, and more research is needed before conclusive statements can be made.

3. The benefits of mineral sunscreen

Now that we have our baseline knowledge, is mineral sunscreen better? Due to the fact that mineral sunscreen creates a reflective barrier that sits on top of the skin to reflect UV rays, there is no risk of it penetrating the skin or entering the bloodstream, unlike chemical sunscreen—and physical sunscreen has several other benefits:

  • Mineral-based sunscreens are suitable for sensitive skin types
  • Physical sunscreen is more convenient, as it can be applied immediately before sun exposure instead of 15 minutes before heading outside
  • Mineral sunscreens are also recommended after professional, office-based treatments and procedures because they can be applied immediately afterwards without irritation to help shield compromised skin from UV rays that can prevent optimal healing
  • Physical sunscreen filters can be used safely when swimming in the ocean without the fear of causing further harm to coral reefs

Skincare science in the world of physical sunscreen formulations has advanced greatly in recent years, and well formulated products can leave all skin tones with a sheer or tinted finish rather than the thick, white cast associated with mineral sunscreens of the past. These advancements have faciliated the mainstream, everyday use of sun protection. We can safely assume that mineral sunscreen offers more benefits to skin than chemical sunscreen does.

SkinCeuticals offers a variety of the best mineral sunscreen options for safe and effective broad spectrum protection against UVA and UVB rays. Our collection of physical sun-protection products includes formulations to meet the needs of various skin types and preferences.

Physical Fusion UV Defense SPF 50 Sunscreen: This lightweight tinted formula is the best sunscreen for face, providing 100%-mineral protection for all skin types, helps boost the skin’s resilience to environmental stress, and helps promote radiance and even-looking appearance in all skin tones.

Physical Matte UV Defense SPF 50 Sunscreen: Ideal for oily and acne-prone skin as well as those who prefer a long-lasting matte finish, this tinted physical sunscreen has a mousse-like texture that helps smooth skin texture and minimize the appearance of pores.

Sheer Physical UV Defense SPF 50 Sunscreen: Offering ultra-sheer mineral sunscreen protection and a weightless matte finish that is suitable for all skin types (including sensitive), this fluid spreads easily, dries quickly, and leaves no residue behind.

Physical Eye UV Defense SPF 50 Sunscreen: This eye cream with SPF is formulated specifically for delicate skin and provides broad spectrum mineral sunscreen protection that won’t migrate into the eyes. Featuring a universal tint that enhances skin tone, it also works well as a primer for eye makeup.

1https://www.aad.org/public/everyday-care/sun-protection/sunscreen-patients/sunscreen-faqs

Related products

Related articles

SUNCARE

Why You Need Sunscreen During Winter

Discover the importance of using sunscreen all year around and take proper care of your skin regardless of the season or amount of time spent indoors.

Read More

ANTI-AGING

Anti-Aging Essentials

Learn how to build your skincare regimen with the proper anti-aging products, formulas, and skincare ingredients to yield the best results.

Read More

SUNCARE

6 Ways to Tackle Post-Summer Spots

Follow our expert recommendations and find out the best methods to handle skin discoloration and dark patches on skin after continuous sun exposure.

Read More

Orientation message
For the best experience, please turn your device

Main content

Écran solaire minéral ou chimique :
Le minéral est-il supérieur ?

SPF 50, CRÈME POUR LES YEUX AVEC SPF, CRÈME SOLAIRE MINÉRALE, CRÈME SOLAIRE PHYSIQUE

Écran solaire minéral ou chimique : Le minéral est-il supérieur ?

  1. Écran solaire minéral
  2. Écran solaire chimique
  3. Les avantages de la protection solaire minérale

On nous dit constamment d'appliquer un écran solaire au quotidien. Cependant, avec l'abondance d'écrans solaires sur le marché, il peut être difficile de prendre une décision concrète une fois que vous avez l'étagère pleine devant vous. Réduisons nos options : sur la base des ingrédients filtrant les UV présents dans la formulation, un produit de protection solaire peut être un écran solaire minéral ou un écran solaire chimique - et il y a plusieurs raisons de choisir l'un plutôt que l'autre. Mais d'abord, rappelons les principes de base.

1. Écran solaire minéral

Avant d'aller plus loin, établissons une base de connaissances : qu'est-ce qu'un écran solaire minéral ? Également appelé "écran solaire physique", ce type de protection solaire repose essentiellement sur l'oxyde de zinc et le dioxyde de titane pour protéger la peau contre les dommages causés par les rayons UVA et UVB (surtout lorsqu'il est utilisé avec d'autres mesures de protection solaire). Ces filtres solaires physiques fonctionnent en créant une barrière à la surface de la peau qui aide à réfléchir les rayons du soleil loin de la peau, et ils sont idéaux pour une utilisation quotidienne ainsi que pour une exposition intense ou prolongée au soleil car ils offrent une protection à large spectre contre les deux rayons UV.

2. Écran solaire chimique

Comme leur nom l'indique, les creme solaires chimiques contiennent des ingrédients synthétiques qui pénètrent dans les couches supérieures de la peau pour absorber les rayons UVA et UVB avant qu'ils ne puissent causer des coups de soleil ou d'autres dommages à la peau. Les filtres UV chimiques comprennent l'oxybenzone, l'octinoxate, l'homosalate, l'octisalate et l'octocrylène. Ces ingrédients de protection solaire offrent également une protection efficace à large spectre contre les deux rayons UV. Comme ces ingrédients sont des produits chimiques, ils peuvent parfois provoquer de légères irritations et réactions chez les personnes à la peau sensible. Ces dernières années, on s'est inquiété des effets que ces filtres peuvent avoir sur les humains par absorption systémique, et des dommages causés aux récifs coralliens. Il est important de noter que ces études ne sont pas entièrement prouvées et que d'autres recherches sont nécessaires avant que des déclarations concluantes puissent être faites.

3. Les avantages des écrans solaires minéraux

Maintenant que nous disposons de nos connaissances de base, les écrans solaires minéraux sont-ils meilleurs ? Étant donné que les écrans solaires minéraux créent une barrière réfléchissante qui se pose sur la peau pour réfléchir les rayons UV, il n'y a aucun risque qu'ils pénètrent dans la peau ou qu'ils entrent dans la circulation sanguine, contrairement aux écrans solaires chimiques - et les écrans solaires physiques présentent plusieurs autres avantages :

  • Les écrans solaires à base de minéraux conviennent aux types de peau sensibles.
  • Les écrans solaires physiques sont plus pratiques, car ils peuvent être appliqués immédiatement avant l'exposition au soleil au lieu de 15 minutes avant de sortir.
  • Les écrans solaires minéraux sont également recommandés après les traitements et les procédures professionnels en cabinet, car ils peuvent être appliqués immédiatement après, sans irritation, afin de protéger la peau fragilisée des rayons UV qui peuvent empêcher une guérison optimale.
  • Les filtres solaires physiques peuvent être utilisés en toute sécurité pour nager dans l'océan sans craindre de nuire davantage aux récifs coralliens.

La science des soins de la peau dans le monde des formulations d'écrans solaires physiques a beaucoup progressé ces dernières années, et les produits bien formulés peuvent laisser sur tous les tons de peau un fini transparent ou teinté plutôt que l'épaisse couche blanche associée aux écrans solaires minéraux du passé. Ces progrès ont facilité l'utilisation courante et quotidienne de la protection solaire. Nous pouvons supposer sans risque que les écrans solaires minéraux offrent plus d'avantages à la peau que les écrans solaires chimiques.

SkinCeuticals propose une variété des meilleurs creme solaires minéraux pour une protection sûre et efficace à large spectre contre les rayons UVA et UVB. Notre collection de produits de protection solaire physique comprend des formulations répondant aux besoins de divers types de peau et préférences.

Écran solaire Physical Fusion UV Defense SPF 50 : Cette formule légère et teintée est le meilleur écran solaire pour le visage. Elle offre une protection 100 % minérale pour tous les types de peau, aide à renforcer la résistance de la peau au stress environnemental et favorise l'éclat et l'uniformité de l'apparence de tous les tons de peau.

Écran solaire physique mat anti-UV SPF 50 : Idéal pour les peaux grasses et à tendance acnéique ainsi que pour celles qui préfèrent un fini mat longue durée, cet écran solaire physique teinté a une texture mousse qui aide à lisser le grain de peau et à minimiser l'apparence des pores.

Écran solaire physique Sheer UV Defense SPF 50 : Offrant une protection solaire minérale ultra-transparente et un fini mat et léger qui convient à tous les types de peau (y compris les peaux sensibles), ce fluide s'étale facilement, sèche rapidement et ne laisse aucun résidu derrière lui.

Écran solaire Physical Eye UV Defense SPF 50 : Cette crème pour les yeux avec FPS est formulée spécifiquement pour les peaux délicates et offre une protection solaire minérale à large spectre qui ne migre pas dans les yeux. Dotée d'une teinte universelle qui rehausse le teint de la peau, elle peut également servir d'apprêt pour le maquillage des yeux.

1https://www.aad.org/public/everyday-care/sun-protection/sunscreen-patients/sunscreen-faqs

Produits connexes

Articles Liés

PROTECTION SOLAIRE

Raisons pour lesquelles vous avez besoin d'un écran solaire 365 jours par an

Apprenez-en plus sur l'importance d'utiliser un écran solaire tous les jours de l'année, indépendamment des températures plus froides. Utilisez les conseils de SkinCeuticals.

Lire la suite

ANTI-ÂGE

Soins essentiels de la peau pour l'anti-âge

La clé pour conserver une peau jeune est de mettre en place des soins anti-âge dès le plus jeune âge. Apprenez à mettre en place une routine de soins anti-âge avec SkinCeuticals.


Lire la suite

PROTECTION SOLAIRE

6 méthodes pour combattre les taches de soleil sur la peau

Les taches d'été vivent sur notre peau bien après que les mois chauds soient passés. Les experts de la peau de SkinCeuticals vous expliquent comment combattre les taches solaires.

Read More

Orientation message
For the best experience, please turn your device